Koestler TrustThe Koestler Trust's Arts Team is looking for several Volunteer Arts Critics to help it write feedback for the thousands of art, literature and music entries it has received for the 2017 Koestler Awards.

Writing feedback is a hugely important part of what The Koestler Trust does as it encourages entrants to participate and achieve in the arts. It aims to provide feedback for as many of the entrants as possible across all of the 52 artforms covered in the Koestler Awards. These include: poetry, film, graphic design, choral music, needlework, painting, beauty and ceramics.

Writing feedback involves considering entries and writing positive responses to the work, including ideas on how it might be developed. This is a great opportunity to see some of the thousands of artworks submitted to the Koestler Awards and to make a direct impact on the entrants.

‘Prison is very insular and can stifle creative thinking, so any feedback is essential. The outside world creates a link to other ideas, concepts and influence.’ Koestler Entrant 2016

The Trust is currently looking to recruit groups of Volunteer Arts Critics to come to its Feedback Tuesday or Feedback Friday Sessions. These will be held at the Koestler Arts Centre on the following dates:

Tuesday 4th July
Friday 7th July
Tuesday 11th July
Tuesday 25th July
Friday 28th July
Tuesday 1st August
Friday 4th August
Tuesday 8th August
Friday 11th August
Tuesday 15th August
Friday 18th August
Tuesday 22nd August
Friday 25th August
Tuesday 29th August
(Please note there are no feedback sessions between 12th and 24th July)

Skills and experience needed:

  • Knowledge in one or several of the artforms represented in the Trust’s work – an interest in the work will keep things lively for you.
  • Commitment to the guidelines set out in the Koestler Trust’s health & safety, confidentiality and equal opportunities policies. Each volunteer will need to sign a confidentiality agreement.
  • Support for the aims of the Koestler Trust.

If you are interested in volunteering on any of the dates above, please send an email with your availability and a brief outline of your interest in the role to fschneider@koestlertrust.org.uk.